PHP Classes

NewBe question re namespace

Recommend this page to a friend!

PHP Google Calendar Add Event  >  All threads  >  NewBe question re namespace  >  (Un) Subscribe thread alerts  
Subject:NewBe question re namespace
Summary:What do I put here?
Author:Tom Fitzgerald
Date:2021-01-13 22:01:22

1. NewBe question re namespace   Reply   Report abuse  
Picture of Tom Fitzgerald Tom Fitzgerald - 2021-01-13 22:01:22
Hi, I am new to programming, that's why I am trying to use your class, But being *Stupid* I am reading this in the autoloader.php
if (strpos($strTableClass, '\\') > 1) {
// replace the namespace prefix with the base directory, replace namespace
// separators with directory separators in the relative class name, append
// with .php
$strInclude = str_replace('\\', DIRECTORY_SEPARATOR, $strTableClass) . '.php';
}
and I just don't understand...
my index is at the root of my site
Your class is copied to the /gcal folder
so what do I put in the '\\'????
I googled namespace but the only hits I get are for XML???
Thanks, in advance, for helping a dummy.
MrFitz

2. Re: NewBe question re namespace   Reply   Report abuse  
Picture of Stefan Kientzler Stefan Kientzler - 2021-01-13 23:13:55 - In reply to message 1 from Tom Fitzgerald
Hi Tom,

If you copy the GCalAddEventLink.php file into another directory (in your case the '\gcal' directory), I recommend you not to use the autoloading function - just include the class directly via
-> require_once("\gcal\GCalAddEventLink.php");
instead of
-> require_once("autoloader.php");

in your script.

If you do so, you don't have to make any further adjustments.

If you want to dive deeper into the topic of 'Namespaces' in PHP, I recommend reading the basic on the PHP Documentation.
php.net/manual/en/language.namespac ...

I also recommend that you take a look at the autoload functionality of PHP in this context.
php.net/manual/en/language.oop5.aut ...

regards, Stefan